The entire increase sits in the earlier fiscal year
The $208,727 increase in Kern County’s submitted outpatient behavioral-health amendment with Clinica Sierra Vista is entirely assigned to fiscal 2025–26 in its replacement funding schedule. The fiscal 2026–27 line remains $31,722,867. Reading the $31,931,594 proposed maximum as a new-year treatment expansion would combine two different fiscal periods.
What’s the Scoop With Broach compared the October 13 staff explanation, the amendment’s changed dates and Exhibit C’s two-year table. The result establishes the financial purpose of this particular increase: authority to cover older eligible service claims, not a demonstrated increase in the coming year’s appointments, staffing or treatment capacity. It does not establish improper billing or question the medical eligibility of any individual claim.
| Funding entry | Amount | What it represents |
|---|---|---|
| Amendment One: FY2025–26 | $208,727 | Entire proposed increase |
| FY2026–27 | $31,722,867 | New-year funding line |
| Maximum reimbursement | $31,931,594 | Sum across both fiscal periods |
The county describes a reconciliation of already-delivered care
Behavioral Health and Recovery Services says eligible Medi-Cal services delivered under earlier Agreement 676-2024 exceeded its early fiscal-year projections, which were based on limited data. Staff says the older agreement has expired but associated claims remain payable, and attributes the amendment’s retroactivity to delays in billing reconciliation.
That explanation is an important counterweight to a simple late-contract headline. The department is not describing an unexpected new treatment program in this request. It is asking to align the current agreement’s funding with what it says are actual eligible services already rendered. The public packet does not include the underlying claims or an independent audit verifying each service’s eligibility, amount and payment status.
The additional amount is about 0.66% of the $31,722,867 new-year line. That percentage measures scale only; it is not a medical-necessity test, a fraud estimate or a reason to dismiss the need for accurate period-by-period reporting.
Five added calendar days are not a verified daily price
The amendment changes the term from July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027 to June 26, 2026–June 30, 2027. The added calendar window is June 26 through June 30, five days immediately before the new fiscal year. The revised funding schedule consequently contains a separate prior-year row rather than folding the increase into fiscal 2026–27.
The staff letter describes services under the prior agreement but does not supply an itemized claim-date schedule. We therefore do not divide $208,727 by five and call the result Clinica’s daily treatment cost, or claim that the amendment proves a particular number of patients were seen during those five days. A changed legal coverage window and a measured utilization rate are different records.
The replacement exhibit lists delivery sites in Delano, Lamont, Lebec and Bakersfield and distinguishes rate-based and cost-based program identifiers. It does not allocate this $208,727 among those locations or identifiers. The countywide increase cannot responsibly be attributed to one clinic or neighborhood from the exhibit alone.
What a completed accounting check would show
For taxpayers and patients, the meaningful reconciliation is whether the older claims are documented, assigned to the right fiscal period and paid once, while the separate new-year allocation supports the intended services. The amendment’s total ceiling answers only the authority question. It is not proof of final payment, expenditure savings, duplicate payment or improved access.
We re-read all five physical pages of the submitted packet and visually checked its scanned staff letter, amended term and funding table on October 20. The two fiscal amounts add exactly to the proposed maximum. The agenda places the item before supervisors on October 13; the county-issued recap reviewed for this report does not specify item 18’s final action. We analyze the verified submitted amendment without asserting that it has been executed or remains pending.
This is original public-contract analysis, not a review of patient files or reporting from an interview with Clinica or county staff. The department’s explanation above is attributed to its signed public staff letter. No connection to unrelated litigation is asserted or needed to establish this amendment’s financial structure.
Sources and further reading
Official October13 morning agenda, item18 ↗
County-issued October13 meeting recap; does not specify item18’s final action ↗
